About Us

MISSION STATEMENT

The East Bay Alliance for a Sustainable Economy (EBASE) advances economic, racial, and social justice by building a just economy based on good jobs and healthy communities. We address the root causes of economic injustice by developing strategic alliances among community, labor, and people of faith to build power and create change with low-income workers and communities of color.

EXECUTIVE TEAM

Kate O’Hara / Executive Director
kate@workingeastbay.org

Maria Elena Allain, MPA / Associate Director
maria.elena@workingeastbay.org

STAFF

Betty Gabaldon / Tenant Organizer Contra Costa
betty@workingeastbay.org

Cynthia Morfin / Oakland Organizer
cynthia@workingeastbay.org

Kristi Laughlin / Senior Campaign Director Concord
kristi@workingeastbay.org

Liana Molina / Senior Campaign Director Oakland
liana@workingeastbay.org

Nicole Zapata / Concord Organizer
nicole@workingeastbay.org

Noah Gaiser, MPP / Development Manager
noah@workingeastbay.org

Saabir Lockett, Special Projects Director
saabir@workingeastbay.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Note: Organizations listed below are for affiliation purposes only.

Reverend Sandhya Jha, Co-Chair
Oakland Peace Center

Sanjay Garla, Co-Chair
SEIU United Service Workers West

Andreas Cluver
Building and Construction Trades Council of Alameda County, AFL-CIO

Larisa Casillas, Secretary-Treasurer
Urban Habitat

Annette Bernhardt
Labor Center, University of California, Berkeley

Brandon Sturdivant
Mass Liberation Project

Ty Hudson
UNITE-HERE Local 2850

Reverend Kurt A. Kuhwald
Faith Alliance for a Moral Economy

Yvonne Williams
Amalgamated Transitworkers Union, Local 192